Title image for article Proudly made in China!
TEXT Anke Pedersen · PHOTOS NUO Hotel Beijing

Proudly made in China!

It feels like there are very few sectors where China isn't a leader. The hospitality industry will also have to watch out in future, because NUO Hotels, the Middle Kingdom's first national five-star brand, wants to start competing with western luxury hotels outside its own country.

The NUO Hotel Beijing in figures

Opened: June 2015
Category: Five-star lifestyle hotel
Owner: Beijing Tourism Group 
General Manager: Adrian Rudin
Location: The NUO Hotel Beijing is very close to Art Zone 798, the heart of China's dynamic art movement in the east of the city, as well as the Third Embassy District and the Wang Jing Hi-Tech Business Park. Beijing International Airport is twenty minutes away by car. 
Features: 438 luxurious rooms and suites, a traditional teahouse, six restaurants and bars including the Executive Club Lounge, NUO spa and traditional Chinese medicine centre and NUO fitness facilities with lifestyle gym and heated indoor pool. The conference and banquet facilities include 14 multi-purpose rooms and the Yongle Grand Ballroom, which covers 1,600 square metres and has no pillars. The fifth floor boasts a garden terrace (with a fire pit) covering an area of 2,200 square metres. 
USP: NUO Signature Series: NUO tea, NUO music, NUO flowers, NUO weddings, NUO Pu’er bath accessories, NUO Green Farm. Commitment to "Low-Carbon Green Intelligence", conforming to Gold Level certification standards in the LEED (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) building rating system.
Architecture, art and design: Hirsch Bedner Associates (Singapore); head designer Ian Carr Partners: Zeng Fanzhi (art), Gao Yijing (weddings/events), Ba Yan Ka La (NUO bed and bath accessories), Christophe Laudamiel (fragrance).

When Michael Henssler is asked to speak about China and his experience of the hotel market there and developments in the country, he leans back with obvious pleasure – and starts talking about Europe. "Did you know," the COO of Kempinski Asia asks, "that the "Made in Germany" seal was originally introduced by the British? At the end of the 19th century? Because they wanted to warn against inferior goods from the German Empire?"

The hotelier doesn't actually expect a reply; his question is purely rhetorical. Henssler's real aim is to make the person he is talking to wake up and take notice. To point out that a tangible paradigm shift has taken place in the People's Republic, away from quantity and towards quality.

06 01 Checkin 05 2018 De

Symbolic: a sign of hospitality, prosperity and a bright future

"Pioneering work for the future of the Chinese luxury hotel industry"

One result of this change is China's first domestic luxury hotel brand, NUO. NUO is the child of management company Key International, a joint venture between Beijing Tourism Group and Kempinski, on whose expertise it is built. The Managing Director of Key is – Michael Henssler. He and his team spent five years developing the new brand and, with representatives of well-known universities, researching what makes the Chinese spirit tick. The result is a five-star product that pays tribute to the country's 5,000-year history and cultural heritage. 

The timing could hardly have been more perfect. With the adoption of its twelfth five-year plan (2011–2015) in 2011, the National People's Congress in Beijing set the course for a historic reorganisation of its economy. Instead of exports, as in the three previous decades, domestic consumption was to drive the Middle Kingdom's growth in future. From that point onwards, the focus was therefore on developing quality "made in China" products and brands – at China's usual pace. It was thus perfectly in keeping with the country's new-found confidence that, at its opening in summer 2015 – shortly before the twelfth five-year plan ended – the NUO Hotel Beijing not only presented itself as "proudly made in China", but boldly stated that it was doing "pioneering work for the future of the Chinese luxury hotel industry".

In particular, Henssler's Key partners from Beijing Tourism Group – the biggest tourism company on the Chinese mainland – have an extraordinary appreciation for the luxury product in east Beijing, which is inspired by the Ming dynasty. Again and again, they are reported to have brought business partners and proudly told them: "Let me show you what China is like!"

06 02 Checkin 05 2018 De

Let there be light: feng shui creates a pleasant atmosphere

Above all, this pride encompasses the NUO's story, which has been carefully considered down to the smallest detail and reflects both the former and the current glory of this millennia-old nation, as well as its forward-looking self-assurance as a leading player in the 21st century. It begins with the five gigantic moon gates – a traditional element in Chinese landscape design – leading to the conference area, which is constantly booked up, and extends to the wide variety of contemporary paintings, graphics and calligraphy throughout the hotel. "We're a Chinese product for the Chinese market," Michael Henssler explains his narrative, "and an international product for those who wish to experience China." 

The name NUO stands for nothing less than "the golden promise", symbolised by a Chinese vase, the sign of hospitality, prosperity and commitment to a bright future. Visitors to the NUO Beijing will see how seriously the hotel's creators mean this when they enter the light-filled lobby, which is the size of an exhibition hall, and are ceremoniously greeted by no fewer than ten two-metre vases. These blue-and-white artworks of Chinese porcelain appear even more impressive mounted on marble plinths and flanked by masterpieces, such as the three-tonne stone sculpture "Le Shan", a homage to an intellectual from the golden era of the Ming dynasty.

NUO will become international in the long term

The colours in the 438-room hotel are also a nod to the Ming dynasty. While luck and prosperity are commonly associated with red in modern China, blue and grey tones predominate at the NUO Beijing. Blue is "more sophisticated" in any case, James Koo explains with a solemn face. As Marketing Director at the NUO Beijing, he is only too familiar with the demands of his mainly Chinese clientele. It was therefore clear from the beginning that the brand would have to meet the highest international standards not only in terms of service, but also with regard to facilities and technology.

  • 06 03 Checkin 05 2018 De

    Tea by NUO: paying homage to the country's cultural heritage

  • 06 04 Checkin 05 2018 De

    Tea by NUO: paying homage to the country's cultural heritage

Luxurious, Chinese, contemporary and sustainable, down to the last detail

Accordingly, "luxurious" is one of the four pillars on which the brand is based, along with "Chinese", "contemporary" and "green". The furniture, which is made of warm wood and leather, is as distinguished as the patterned silk walls and the wood and structured marble floors; the air purification systems are of the same high quality as the sound-proofing, and the all-marble baths with rain showers are as exquisite as the free-standing bathtubs. It goes without saying that there's also free broadband and internet access, as well as high-resolution flat-screen televisions, Bluetooth-enabled Bose stereo loudspeakers and Nespresso machines. 

Beyond that, however, it's the many carefully thought-out details that make the NUO truly special. All the rooms are naturally fitted with floor-length windows, to let the daylight in. "Natural light gives people energy," says James, explaining the principles underlying the feng shui theory of harmony. That means it's not only the corridors that are extremely generously proportioned and spacious, but also the standard rooms, including walk-in wardrobes. 

06 05 Checkin 05 2018 De

Intensive studies: What makes the Chinese spirit tick?

One of many other details is the NUO's reverence for China's national drink, tea. In keeping with the brand pillar "green", the Key Group manages its own tea plantation. China's first luxury skincare brand, Ba Yan Ka La, produces exclusive tea-based bed and bath accessories for the NUO from the tea varieties cultivated there; in addition, tea culture is celebrated in the rooms of the "Yuan" teahouse and the adjoining garden – by a certified tea master, naturally. 

As of now, NUO guests can also enjoy their tea in the Heavenly Peace Square at the group's second hotel. Key Managing Director Henssler took over the former Raffles with 164 rooms in 2017. Having been gradually brought into line with the four NUO pillars, it is now officially open for bookings. So what happens next? "With NUO, we've created a growth platform for our joint venture," Henssler says, explaining the strategic goal. That means that further hotels are already planned in major cities such as Shanghai, Guangzhou, Shenzhen and Hangzhou; in the long term, NUO will then be rolled out internationally. Before that, however, the hotel manager and his team want to use their domestic market to demonstrate to the world that from now on, "made in China" is just as much a mark of quality as "made in Germany".

Titelbild für Artikel Proudly made in China!
TEXT Anke Pedersen

Proudly made in China!

Gefühlt gibt es kaum eine Branche, in der China den Westen nicht schon ein- oder gar überholt hat. In Zukunft wird sich auch das Gastgewerbe warm anziehen müssen: Denn die NUO Hotels, der erste nationale Fünf-Sterne-Brand im Reich der Mitte, wird der westlichen Luxushotellerie nicht nur im eigenen Land Konkurrenz machen.

Das NUO Hotel Beijing in Zahlen

Eröffnung: Juni 2015
Kategorie: Fünf-Sterne- Lifestyle-Hotel
Eigentümer: Beijing Tourism Group 
General Manager: Adrian Rudin
Standort: Das NUO Hotel Beijing liegt in direkter Nachbarschaft der Art Zone 798, dem Herzen der dynamischen Kunstbewegung Chinas im Osten der Stadt, des Third Embassy Districts und des Wang Jing Hi-Tech Business Parks. Der internationale Flughafen Peking ist in zwanzig Autominuten zu erreichen. 
Ausstattung: 438 luxuriöse Zimmer und Suiten, ein traditionelles Teehaus, sechs Restaurants und Bars inklusive Executive Club Lounge, NUO-Spa und Zentrum für traditionelle chinesische Medizin sowie NUO-Fitness mit Lifestyle-Turnhalle und beheiztem Hallenbad. Zu den Tagungs- und Banketträumen gehören 14 Multifunktionsräume und der 1600 Quadratmeter große, säulenfreie Yongle-Grand-Ballsaal. Eine Gartenterrasse (mit Feuerstelle) im fünften Stock erstreckt sich über 2200 Quadratmeter. 
USP: NUO Signature Series: NUO-Tee, NUO-Musik, NUO-Blume, NUO-Hochzeit, NUO-Pu’er-Badaccessoires, NUO Green Farm. Bekenntnis zur »Low-Carbon Green Intelligence« unter Einhaltung der Gold-Level-Zertifizierungsstandards im LEED (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design Building Rating System).
Architektur, Kunst und Design: Hirsch Bedner Associates (Singapur); Chefdesigner Ian Carr Partners: Zeng Fanzhi (Kunst), Gao Yijing (Hochzeiten/Events), Ba Yan Ka La (NUO-Bett- und -Badaccessoires), Christophe Laudamiel (Duft).

Wenn Michael Henssler über China sprechen soll, seine Erfahrungen mit dem dortigen Hotelmarkt und die Entwicklungen in diesem Land, dann lehnt er sich genussvoll zurück – und erzählt erst mal von Europa. »Wussten Sie«, fragt der COO Kempinski Asien dann, »dass das Siegel Made in Germany ursprünglich von den Briten eingeführt wurde? Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts? Weil man damit vor minderwertiger Ware aus dem Deutschen Kaiserreich warnen wollte?«

Eine Antwort erwartet der Hotelier nicht wirklich; seine Frage ist rein rhetorischer Natur. Hensslers eigentliches Ziel besteht darin, sein Gegenüber wachzurütteln und darauf hinzuweisen, dass auch das China des Jahres 2018 dem hierzulande gängigen Bild eines lediglich Billigkopien produzierenden Landes entwachsen ist. Dass sich in der Volksrepublik ein handfester Paradigmenwandel vollzogen hat: weg von Quantität hin zu Qualität. 

06 01 Checkin 05 2018 De

Symbolisch: Zeichen für Gastfreundschaft, Wohlstand und eine glänzende Zukunft

»Pionierarbeit für die Zukunft der chinesischen Luxushotellerie«

Ein Ergebnis dieses Wandels ist Chinas erste heimische Luxushotelmarke NUO. NUO ist ein Kind der Management-Company Key International, einem Joint Venture von Beijing Tourism Group und Kempinski, auf dessen Expertise es aufbaut. Key-Geschäftsführer ist – Michael Henssler. Fünf Jahre lang hatten er und sein Team sich für die Entwicklung der neuen Marke Zeit gelassen und zusammen mit Vertretern renommierter Universitäten erforscht, was die chinesische Seele bewegt. Das Ergebnis ist ein Fünf-Sterne-Produkt, das sich der 5000-jährigen Geschichte und dem kulturellen Erbe des Landes verpflichtet fühlt. 

Das Timing hätte perfekter kaum sein können. Mit Verabschiedung seines zwölften Fünfjahresplans (2011–2015) im Jahr 2011 hatte der Nationale Volkskongress in Peking die Weichen für den historischen Umbau seiner Wirtschaft gestellt: Statt durch Exporte, wie in den drei Jahrzehnten zuvor, sollte künftig der heimische Verbrauch das Wachstum im Reich der Mitte antreiben. Ergo kon­zen­trier­te man sich fortan – und in dem für China üblichen Tempo – auf die Entwicklung von Qualitätsprodukten und Marken made in China. Und so entsprach es ganz dem neuen Selbstvertrauen im Land, dass sich das NUO Hotel Beijing bei seiner Eröffnung im Sommer 2015 – kurz vor Ablauf des zwölften Fünfjahresplans – nicht nur als »proudly made in China« präsentierte, sondern ganz unbescheiden als »Pionierarbeit für die Zukunft der chinesischen Luxushotellerie«.

06 02 Checkin 05 2018 De

Es werde Licht: Wohlfühlatmosphäre nach Feng-Shui

Das goldene Versprechen

Dieser Stolz umfasst vor allem die bis ins letzte Detail durchdachte Geschichte des NUO, die gleichsam die alte und die neue Größe dieser jahrtausendealten Nation spiegelt und ihre in die Zukunft weisende Selbstgewissheit als führender Player im 21. Jahrhundert: begonnen bei den fünf gigantischen Mondtoren – einem altchinesischen Landschaftsgestaltungselement –, die in den dauergebuchten Tagungsbereich führen, bis hin zur Vielzahl zeitgenössischer Gemälde, Grafiken und Kalligrafien im gesamten Haus. »Wir sind ein chinesisches Produkt für den chinesischen Markt«, erklärt Michael Henssler sein Narrativ, »und ein internationales für diejenigen, die China erleben wollen.« 

Und so steht der Name NUO für nichts weniger als »das goldene Versprechen«, symbolisiert von einer chinesischen Vase, dem Zeichen für Gastfreundschaft, Wohlstand und Engagement für eine glänzende Zukunft. Wie ernst es den Machern damit ist, erleben Besucher im NUO Beijing schon beim Betreten der messehallengroßen, lichtdurchfluteten Lobby, wo sie von gleich zehn Zwei-Meter-Vasen feierlich begrüßt werden. Noch imposanter wirken die weiß-blauen Kunstwerke aus chinesischem Porzellan durch ihre Positionierung auf marmornen Sockeln sowie durch die Meisterwerke, die sie flankieren; die steinerne Drei-Tonnen-Skulptur »Le Shan« etwa, eine Hommage an einen Intellektuellen aus dem goldenen Zeitalter der Ming-Dynastie. 

Langfristig wird NUO international

Auch die Farben in dem 438-Zimmer-Haus huldigen der Ming-Dynastie. Werden Wohlstand und Glück im modernen China gemeinhin mit Rot assoziiert, dominieren Blau- und Grautöne das NUO Beijing. Blau sei ohnehin »more sophisticated«, erklärt James Koo mit feierlichem Gesicht. Als Marketingdirektor im NUO Beijing kennt er die Ansprüche seiner überwiegend chinesischen Klientel nur zu genau. Und so war von Anfang an gesetzt, dass sich die Marke nicht nur in puncto Service, sondern auch in Bezug auf Einrichtung und Technik auf internationalem Toplevel bewegen müsse.

  • 06 03 Checkin 05 2018 De

    Tee by NUO: Dem kulturellen Erbe des Landes verpflichtet

  • 06 04 Checkin 05 2018 De

    Tee by NUO: Dem kulturellen Erbe des Landes verpflichtet

Luxuriös, chinesisch, zeitgenössisch und nachhaltig bis ins Detail

Entsprechend ist »luxuriös« neben »chinesisch«, »zeitgenössisch« und »grün« eine der vier Säulen, auf denen sie aufbaut. Und so ist zum Beispiel das aus warmen Hölzern und Ledern bestehende Mobiliar ebenso erlesen wie etwa die seidengemusterten Wände und die Holz- und Strukturmarmorböden; sind die Luftreinigungssysteme ebenso hochwertig wie die Schalldämmung, und die Vollmarmorbäder mit Regenduschen ebenso exquisit wie die frei stehenden Badewannen. Hinzu kommen – selbstverständlich – kostenloser Breitband- und Internetzugang, hochauflösende Flachbildfernseher, bluetoothfähige Bose-Stereolautsprecher und Nespresso-Maschinen. 

Darüber hinaus sind es jedoch vor allem die vielen bis zu Ende gedachten Details, die das eigentlich Besondere sind am NUO. Um das Tageslicht hereinzulassen, sind sämtliche Räume selbstverständlich mit bodentiefen Fenstern ausgestattet. »Natürliches Licht gibt den Menschen Energie«, erklärt James die zugrunde liegenden Prinzipien der Harmonielehre Feng-Shui. Dazu gehört auch, dass nicht nur die Flure extrem großzügig und geräumig angelegt sind, sondern auch die Standardzimmer, begehbare Kleiderschränke inklusive. 

06 05 Checkin 05 2018 De

Intensive Studien: Was bewegt die chinesische Seele?

Eines von vielen weiteren Details ist die Verbeugung des NUO vor Chinas Nationalgetränk Tee. Entsprechend der Markensäule »grün« bewirtschaftet die Key-Gruppe eine eigene Teeplantage. Aus den dort angebauten Teesorten stellt Chinas erste Luxus-Hautpflegemarke Ba Yan Ka La exklusive Tee-Bett- und -Badaccessoires für das NUO her; darüber hinaus wird die Teekultur in den Räumlichkeiten des Teehauses »Yuan« und seines angrenzenden Gartens zelebriert – von einem zertifizierten Teemeister, versteht sich. 

Ab sofort können NUO-Gäste ihren Tee übrigens auch am Platz des Himmlischen Friedens genießen, im zweiten Haus der Gruppe. Bereits 2017 hatte Key-Geschäftsführer Henssler das vormalige Raffles mit 164 Zimmern übernehmen können. Nachdem es nach und nach auf die vier NUO-Säulen gestellt wurde, ist es jetzt auch offiziell buchbar. Und wie geht es weiter? »Mit NUO haben wir eine Wachstumsplattform für unser Joint Venture geschaffen«, erklärt Henssler das strategische Ziel. Soll heißen: Weitere Häuser in Metropolen wie Shanghai, Guangzhou, Shenzhen und Hangzhou sind bereits in Planung; langfristig soll NUO dann auch international ausgerollt werden. Zuvor wollen der Hotelprofi und sein Team der Welt jedoch vor Ort beweisen, dass made in China ab sofort genauso für Qualität steht wie made in Germany.