Title image for article Let’s Chat!
TEXT Jürgen Baltes

Let’s Chat!

There was a lot of hype about chatbots in 2017, with a number of hotels installing virtual concierges to answer questions quickly and automatically via web chat, Facebook etc. They promise better service for guests – and a lighter workload for staff. We look at how things work in this new era of communication with guests.

A chatbot isn't artificial intelligence. It needs to be fed with answers.

For nine months the virtual concierge James performed his duties at the Ameron Hotel in Hamburg's Speicherstadt district, waking guests in the mornings, giving them directions to the station and informing them of breakfast times or the conditions for bringing pets. But now James is history. "It was a test," the hotel says, explaining that it wanted to find out the extent to which a bot could take over from staff at the reception desk and in taking reservations and telephone calls.

02 02 Checkin 06 2018 De

Sebastian Grundner-Culemann: "A chat is a channel that's relevant to bookings"

02 03 Checkin 06 2018 De

Christin Neumann saves an hour every day

Meanwhile, the i31 hotel in Berlin sees itself as a step ahead. A chatbot from the Munich-based company LiveRate has been in service here since March 2017. Christin Neumann, "Chief Happiness Executive" at the innovative boutique hotel, has so far filled in the answers to the fifty most important out of 200 pre-set questions.

If the bot is able to help a guest, Neumann won't know anything about it. Otherwise the query will wash up on her desk, or, if outside office hours, with reception. "By cutting down on telephone calls and e-mail responses, I'm probably saving an hour of working time every day," Neumann estimates. The bot has "long since paid for itself," she says – particularly as it can even handle complete bookings on its own.

For LiveRate CEO Sebastian Grundner-Culemann, a chatbot is "somewhere between a website search and a phone call" and in many cases is "simply a more convenient alternative". An example is the policy on pets: "That's a question that's often asked, but the information is usually hidden somewhere on the website or isn't even provided."

The LiveRate boss also believes that chat is "a channel that's relevant to bookings", as 37 per cent of all questions relate to a forthcoming booking. An interesting point is that guests can actually also communicate via a chat during their stay, for example to ask what time breakfast is served or request room service. "But it hasn't happened much so far," Grundner-Culemann says. "Most queries are concentrated in the time before arrival."

Someone who understands everything

In hotels themselves, voice systems could take over communications in future. Amazon has just launched Alexa for hotels, with Marriott as its partner. The smart speaker will provide information on hotel services, contact room service or housekeeping, play guests' own music and control the air conditioning, blinds and television.

This certainly isn't a far-off dream, and it's not just an issue for the big players. In a budget design hotel in the tranquil little city of Ulm, a small hotel group is currently testing Alexa – but very discreetly. When they check in, customers are offered an Amazon Echo to take up to their room. Initial results are promising, says Marc Frauenholz, CEO of the Nuremberg-based developer Hello Guest. However, he feels it's important not to overwhelm guests by presenting them with a "Starship Enterprise". The smart speaker will initially only answer questions relating to the hotel and the surrounding area.

Chatbots and voice systems could in future have a trump card to play in an international context. The hotel industry deals with more guests from different cultures and language areas than virtually any other sector. If we look at how fast Google is advancing in speech recognition, for example – the Google Assistant has just learned to understand two languages at once – we can assume that there will come a time when the virtual concierge won't mind whether a guest addresses it in French, Italian or Chinese.

More than chat

Not least, chatbots and voice systems are more than just innovative communication channels. They can also collect a whole lot of data and "remember" every conversation, even years later. It doesn't take rocket science to filter out those customers who have chatted about children, for example, and then send them targeted news about offers for families.

Titelbild für Artikel Let’s Chat!
TEXT Jürgen Baltes

Let’s Chat!

Chatbots waren das Hypethema 2017: Etliche Hotels haben virtuelle Concierges installiert, die per Webchat, Facebook und Co. Fragen automatisch und schnell beantworten. Das Versprechen: mehr Service für die Gäste – und Entlastung für die Mitarbeiter. Ein Blick in die Praxis dieser neuen Ära der Gästekommunikation.

Ein Chatbot ist keine künstliche Intelligenz. Er muss mit Antworten gefüttert werden.

Neun Monate lang hat der virtuelle Concierge James im Hamburger Ameron Hotel Speicherstadt seinen Dienst getan, hat Gäste morgens geweckt, ihnen den Weg zum Bahnhof erklärt, die Frühstückszeiten oder die Konditionen für Haustiere durchgegeben. Doch James ist Geschichte. »Es war ein Test«, heißt es dazu. Man habe herausfinden wollen, inwieweit ein Bot Mitarbeiter an der Rezeption, in der Reservierung und bei Telefonaten entlasten könne.

02 02 Checkin 06 2018 De

Sebastian Grundner-Culemann: »Der Chat ist ein buchungsrelevanter Kanal«

02 03 Checkin 06 2018 De

Christin Neumann:
Zeitersparnis von einer Stunde täglich

Das Berliner Hotel i31 sieht sich indes schon einen Schritt weiter. Seit März 2017 tut hier ein Chatbot des Münchener Unternehmens Liverate seinen Dienst. Die fünfzig wichtigsten von 200 voreingestellten Fragen hat Christin Neumann, »Chief Happiness Executive« des innovativen Boutiquehotels, bislang mit Antworten befüllt. 

Kann der Bot einem Gast helfen, bekommt Neumann davon nichts mit. Ansonsten läuft die Anfrage bei ihr auf, nach Büroschluss an der Rezeption. »Durch eingesparte Telefonate und ­E-Mail-­Ant­wor­ten spare ich vermutlich eine Stunde Arbeitszeit am Tag«, schätzt Neumann. Der Bot habe sich denn auch »längst amortisiert«, ist sie überzeugt – zumal er sogar komplette Buchungen autark abwickeln kann.
Für Liverate-Geschäftsführer Sebastian Grundner-Culemann liegt ein Chatbot »irgendwo zwischen Websitesuche und Anruf« und ist in vielen Fällen »schlicht die bequemere Variante«. Beispiel Pet-Policy: »Das ist eine oft gestellte Frage, die aber auf der Website meist versteckt oder gar nicht beantwortet wird.«
Für den Liverate-Chef ist der Chat zudem »ein buchungsrelevanter Kanal«. Denn 37 Prozent aller Fragen bezögen sich auf eine bevorstehende Buchung. Interessant: Auch während des Aufenthalts könnten Gäste eigentlich über den Chat kommunizieren, etwa die Frühstückszeiten erfragen oder den Roomservice bestellen. »Doch das passiert bislang kaum«, so Grundner-Culemann, »die Anfragen konzentrieren sich auf den Vor-Anreise-Bereich.«

Einer, der alles versteht

Im Hotel selbst dagegen könnten künftig Sprachsysteme die Kommunikation übernehmen. Amazon etwa hat gerade Alexa für Hotels auf den Markt gebracht. Launch-Partner ist Marriott. Der smarte Lautsprecher soll über Hotelservices informieren, Kontakt zu Roomservice oder Housekeeping herstellen, eigene Musik abspielen und ebenso Klimaanlage, Jalousien oder Fernseher steuern.
Das ist keineswegs Zukunftsmusik und nicht nur ein Thema für die Big Player. In einem Budget-Designhotel in Ulm etwa testet eine kleine Hotelgruppe derzeit Alexa – und zwar recht unaufdringlich. Den Kunden wird beim Check-in angeboten, einen Amazon Echo mit aufs Zimmer zu nehmen. Die ersten Ergebnisse seien vielversprechend, sagt Marc Frauenholz, Geschäftsführer des Entwicklers Hello Guest aus Nürnberg. Man dürfe die Gäste aber nicht gleich überfordern, indem man ihnen ein »Raumschiff Enterprise« vorsetze. Der smarte Lautsprecher beantwortet zunächst nur Fragen rund ums Hotel und zur Umgebung. 
Einen Trumpf könnten Chatbots und Sprachsysteme künftig im internationalen Kontext ausspielen. Denn wie kaum eine andere Branche hat die Hotellerie mit Gästen aus unterschiedlichsten Kulturen und Sprachräumen zu tun. Schaut man sich an, wie schnell etwa Google die Spracherkennung vorantreibt – gerade hat der Google Assistant gelernt, zwei Sprachen gleichzeitig zu verstehen –, steht zu vermuten, dass es dem virtuellen Concierge irgendwann egal sein wird, ob ein Gast ihn auf Deutsch, Italienisch oder Chinesisch anspricht.

Mehr als Chat

Und nicht zuletzt sind Chats und Sprachsysteme mehr als nur innovative Kommunikationskanäle. Sie können auch jede Menge Daten sammeln und sich noch nach Jahren an jedes Gespräch »erinnern«. Da ist es kein Hexenwerk herauszufiltern, mit welchen Kunden beispielsweise über Kinder gechattet wurde – und diese dann gezielt mit News zu Familienangeboten zu versorgen.