Title image for article Fact check.
Text: Björn Zimmer

Fact check.

Beacons. The truths and untruths about a new technology.

"Beacons – top or flop for the hotel industry?" This question was the title of a blog on the website of the German Hotel Association (IHA) shortly before Christmas. The bone of contention is an innovative technology which has particularly become the focus of attention in the sector because of the HRS investment in start-up Conichi. Criticism is good – but the facts have to be right. This is a check.

Statement: "The user has to have downloaded and activated a special app. This is also a problem, because consumers have gradually reached the point where they are 'all apped out'; they have become tired of apps, and this should by no means be ignored!"
Response: Granted, there are studies according to which smartphone users ultimately use only a few apps on their phones on a regular basis. Overall, however, app usage is on the rise. Users spend an average of three hours a day on apps. The primary motivation for downloading an app is its ability to solve a particular task or problem (Source: eMarketer). Apps simplify our daily lives and are an integral part of life ñ they have long since arrived in the travel segment too, and apps must therefore be available across the entire travel chain. Conichi found a partner in HRS whose app is installed on more than 23 million devices ñ the Conichi solution is integrated into the existing HRS app and thus reaches a large number of users. The app does not even have to be open in order for it to work.

Statement: "The direct booker would then be at a disadvantage compared to the guest who is subject to commission, that is to say, the 'more valuable' guest would receive a less personal service than the one that was purchased dearly through the OTA."
Response: No. The Conichi solution works the same way for every guest ñ irrespective of the channel through which he booked. Apart from the HRS app, the solution is also used in Conichi's own app. The app is available free to users and is not tied to a booking or a MyHRS account.

Statement: "The data collected do not remain at the hotel, but go to the app provider."
Response: Wrong. Using Conichi, the guest provides the hotel with the specific data that are required for the guest registration form. All data collected in connection with the hotel stay remain at the hotel. Conichi is currently developing interfaces to popular PMS systems for this. However, at the moment, these data can already be managed simply and intelligent using the clearly laid out Conichi Management Dashboard.

Incidentally: The assertion that Bluetooth is an energy guzzler is nothing more than a myth. Since the iPhone 4S, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) has been available, which uses virtually no energy. Thus Bluetooth Low Energy is also the standard for apps for door openers, for example. The latest technologies ensure that Wi-Fi and Bluetooth really only use electricity when these features are actively used. If no data streams are discernible in the meantime, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth use hardly any additional electricity. A number of apps use Bluetooth. Travellers are aware of this if they want to take advantage of the benefits. According to a study carried out by Strˆer and German rail company Deutsche Bahn, 40 percent of travellers have already activated Bluetooth.

Are you interested in further facts about all aspects of Conichi? You will find more information at www.conichi.com.

Titelbild für Artikel Faktencheck: Beacons.
Text: Björn Zimmer

Faktencheck: Beacons.

Wahrheiten und Unwahrheiten über eine neue Technologie.

»Beacons – Top oder Flop für die Hotellerie?« Mit dieser Frage titelte kurz vor Weihnachten ein Blog auf den Seiten der IHA. Stein des Anstoßes ist eine innovative Technologie, die nicht zuletzt durch das Investment von HRS in das Start-up Conichi in den Branchenfokus gerückt ist. Kritik ist gut – allein die Fakten sollten stimmen. Ein Check.

Aussage: »Der Nutzer muss eine spezielle App heruntergeladen und aktiviert haben. Auch dies ist ein Problem, denn bei den Konsumenten hat es sich so langsam ›ausgeappt‹; sie sind der Apps überdrüssig geworden, was keinesfalls ignoriert werden darf!«
Antwort: Zwar gibt es Studien, nach denen Smartphonenutzer auf ihrem Handy letztlich nur wenige Apps regelmäßig nutzten. Insgesamt aber steigt die App-Nutzung. Nutzer verbringen durchschnittlich drei Stunden am Tag mit Apps. Hauptmotivation für den Download einer App ist ihre Fähigkeit, eine bestimmte Aufgabe oder ein Problem zu lösen (Quelle: eMarketer). Apps vereinfachen uns den Alltag und sind integraler Bestandteil des Lebens – auch im Reisebereich sind sie längst angekommen, und Apps müssen daher in der gesamten Reisekette verfügbar sein. Mit HRS hat Conichi einen Partner gefunden, dessen App auf über 23 Millionen Geräten installiert ist – die Lösung von Conichi wird in die bestehende App von HRS integriert und erreicht somit eine große Zahl an Nutzern. Um zu funktionieren, muss die App nicht einmal geöffnet sein.

Aussage: »Der Direktbucher würde dann dem provisionspflichtigen Gast gegenüber benachteiligt werden, sprich, der ›wertvollere‹ Gast würde einen unpersönlicheren Service erhalten als der teuer erkaufte über den OTA.«
Antwort: Nein. Die Conichi-Lösung funktioniert bei jedem Gast gleich – unabhängig davon, über welchen Kanal er gebucht hat. Neben der HRS App findet die Lösung auch in einer eigenen Conichi-App Anwendung. Die App steht Usern kostenlos zur Verfügung und ist nicht an eine Buchung oder einen MyHRS Account gebunden.

Aussage: »Die gesammelten Daten bleiben nicht beim Hotel, sondern beim App-Anbieter.«
Antwort: Falsch. Der Gast stellt mittels Conichi dem Hotel jene Daten zur Verfügung, die für das Gästeblatt benötigt werden. Alle gesammelten Daten im Zusammenhang mit dem Hotelaufenthalt bleiben beim Hotel. Conichi entwickelt dafür derzeit Schnittstellen zu den gängigen PMS. Doch bereits jetzt lassen sich diese Daten über das übersichtliche Conichi-Management-Dashboard intelligent und einfach verwalten.

Übrigens: Die Behauptung, Bluetooth sei ein Energiefresser, gehört ins Reich der Mythen. Seit dem iPhone 4S gibt es Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), welches fast keine Energie verbraucht. So ist Bluetooth Low Energy zum Beispiel auch Standard für die Türöffnung per App. Die neuesten Technologien sorgen dafür, dass WLAN und Bluetooth nur dann wirklich Strom verbrauchen, wenn die Features aktiv genutzt werden. Sind zwischenzeitlich keine Datenströme erkennbar, verbrauchen WLAN und Bluetooth kaum zusätzlichen Strom. Eine Vielzahl von Apps verwenden Bluetooth, Reisende sind sich dessen bewusst, wenn sie die Vorteile nutzen wollen. Laut einer Studie von Ströer und Deutscher Bahn haben bereits vierzig Prozent der Reisenden Bluetooth aktiviert.

Sind Sie an weiteren Fakten rund um Conichi interessiert? Mehr Informationen finden Sie unter www.conichi.com.