Title image for article »Change Is the New Normal«
COLUMN Matthias Schultze

»Change Is the New Normal«

Digital transformation is a comprehensive process that calls for a change in mindset from all employees of a company. "As a first step, we need to get this 'mind shift' right," says Matthias Schultze, Managing Director of the German Convention Bureau. Here he outlines how to ensure this change is a success.

Germany has for many years occupied a top spot on the international market for conferences, conventions and events. To ensure it maintains this success in the future, the German Convention Bureau e.V., as part of its digitalisation strategy, is supporting its members and partners with a series of measures to help them promote and implement the digital transformation. The GCB is also constantly adapting its own processes to the challenges of digitalisation.

The GCB's vision is: "Meetings made in Germany connect the world – digital and face to face." That means that Germany will in future not only be a leader for meetings held in person in Europe, but will also explicitly include virtual and hybrid event formats. The results of the study "Meeting & Event Barometers 2017/2018" underline the growing importance of these types of events, with 23.5 per cent of all events organisers reporting that they arrange hybrid events.

In terms of both internal procedures and processes at companies in the German conference and convention sector, the GCB has identified six areas in which digital transformation is posing challenges.

08 02 Checkin 06 2018 De

Matthias Schultze on "Encourage employees to try out new things!"

1. Strategy

A strategic approach that encompasses all areas of business is the basis for all measures in connection with digital transformation. Building on the roadmap "Conferences and Conventions of the Future", an analysis of megatrends published in 2013, the GCB drew up such a digitalisation strategy for itself and the sector as a whole in 2016. As a dynamic strategy, it is continuously being reviewed and adapted to the rapidly changing environment.

2. Corporate culture

The key to realising a company's vision and strategic goals is having support from each individual employee. This calls for expertise in several areas, and not just technical or methodological expertise: personal skills and a positive attitude to the subject of digitalisation also play an important role. Staff should be encouraged to try out new things, and mistakes should be allowed. To create the right environment and promote this "culture of trying things out", the GCB is focusing on continuous training and new and creative ways of collaborating, such as peer-learning meetings and agile working.

3. Technology

New technologies are at the heart of the digital transformation. The GCB has radically changed how it deals with new technical tools in recent years: employees are undertaking further training in this field and are constantly reviewing the tools used for data management or communicating with members, partners and customers, for example – including at the GCB's branches in New York and Beijing. This technology plays a key role in supporting flexible and cooperative working. New technological possibilities are also influencing the GCB's marketing measures; its portfolio includes webinars, for example, and increasingly often video content for social media channels. The GCB is investigating how virtual and augmented reality, facial recognition and other relevant technologies could be used for its own events.

4. Channels

Digital transformation is having a significant impact on how the GCB communicates with its various target groups. In particular, social media channels are taking up more space and influencing the respective formats that are chosen. With webinars and web TV events, social media posts and digital brochures instead of printed ones, the GCB is also exploring new avenues in the areas of marketing and communications.

5. Customer focus

The "customer journey" is at the heart of all measures and also guides members and partners in implementing digital solutions. A focus on customers is a key factor in success: users are increasingly often expecting individualised solutions at the various points of contact associated with a service or product. An analysis of the various target groups' needs and expectations forms the basis for the definition of "personas". This marketing tool can then be used to develop appropriate solutions and products.

6. Data and analyses

The success of measures and activities must remain measurable in the digital world. Before analysing its data, the GCB therefore defines KPIs (key performance indicators) that can be used to review all communication measures, for example. In terms of digitalisation as a whole, the digital maturity index is the most important KPI for measuring the degree of digital transformation in a company. It serves as a guide for further optimisation of all processes in all parts of the company on an ongoing basis. Change is the new normal; we must accept and accommodate the profound changes driven by digital transformation with dynamic strategic approaches, continuous training and constant adaptation of solutions and products.

Titelbild für Artikel »Change Is the New Normal«
KOLUMNE Matthias Schultze

»Change Is the New Normal«

Die digitale Transformation ist ein umfassender Prozess, der allen Mitarbeitern eines Unternehmens einen Bewusstseinswandel abverlangt: »Als ersten Schritt müssen wir diesen ›mind shift‹ hinbekommen«, sagt Matthias Schultze, Managing Director des German Convention Bureau. Hier beschreibt er, wie dieser Wandel gelingen kann.

Deutschland belegt im internationalen Wettbewerb um Tagungen, Kongresse und Events seit vielen Jahren einen Spitzenplatz. Um diesen Erfolg auch für die Zukunft zu sichern, unterstützt das German Convention Bureau e. V. im Rahmen seiner Digitalisierungsstrategie seine Mitglieder und Partner mit einer Reihe von Maßnahmen dabei, die digitale Transformation voranzutreiben und umzusetzen. Auch seine eigenen Prozesse passt das GCB stetig an die Herausforderungen der Digitalisierung an. 

Die Vision des GCB dabei lautet: »Meetings made in Germany connect the world – digital and face to face.« Das heißt: Deutschland soll künftig nicht nur in Europa mit realen Meetings führend sein, sondern auch virtuelle und hy­bri­de Veranstaltungsformate explizit miteinbeziehen. Die Ergebnisse des »Meeting- & Event-Barometers 2017/2018« untermauern die zunehmende Bedeutung dieser Veranstaltungsarten: So führen schon 23,5 Prozent aller Veranstalter hybride Veranstaltungen durch. 

Sowohl in Bezug auf die internen Abläufe als auch auf die Prozesse in den Unternehmen der deutschen Tagungs- und Kongressbranche hat das GCB sechs Bereiche identifiziert, in denen die digitale Transformation für Herausforderungen sorgt.

08 02 Checkin 06 2018 De

Matthias Schultze:
»Mitarbeiter zum
Ausprobieren ermutigen!«

1. Strategie 

Ein alle Geschäftsbereiche umfassender strategischer Ansatz ist die Basis für sämtliche Maßnahmen in Zusammenhang mit der digitalen Transformation. Aufbauend auf der Roadmap »Tagung und Kongress der Zukunft«, einer 2013 veröffentlichten Megatrendanalyse, hat das GCB im Jahr 2016 für sich und die gesamte Branche eine solche Digitalisierungsstrategie erarbeitet. Sie wird als dynamische Strategie ständig überprüft und an das sich schnell verändernde Umfeld angepasst. 

2. Unternehmenskultur 

Der Schlüssel für die Umsetzung der Vision sowie der strategischen Ziele ist deren Unterstützung durch jeden einzelnen Mitarbeiter. Nötig sind hierfür Kompetenzen in mehreren Bereichen: Nicht nur technische oder Methodenkompetenz, sondern auch persönliche Kompetenzen und eine positive Einstellung gegenüber dem Thema Digitalisierung spielen eine wichtige Rolle. Mitarbeiter sollten ermutigt werden, Dinge auszuprobieren, Fehler sollten dabei erlaubt sein. Um das richtige Umfeld zu schaffen und diese »Kultur des Ausprobierens« zu fördern, setzt das GCB auf kontinuierliche Weiterbildung sowie auf neue und kreative Methoden der Zusammenarbeit, wie zum Beispiel Peer-Learning-Meetings oder agiles Arbeiten. 

3. Technologie 

Neue Technologien stehen im Mittelpunkt der digitalen Transformation. Im GCB hat sich der Umgang mit neuen technischen Tools in den letzten Jahren stark verändert: Die Mitarbeiter bilden sich in diesem Bereich weiter und überprüfen stetig die Tools, die beispielsweise für das Datenmanagement oder die Kommunikation mit den Mitgliedern, Partnern und Kunden eingesetzt werden – auch in den GCB-Repräsentanzen in New York und Peking. Flexibles und kooperatives Arbeiten wird durch diese Technologie entscheidend unterstützt. Die neuen technologischen Möglichkeiten prägen auch die Marketingmaßnahmen des GCB: Zum Portfolio gehören zum Beispiel Webinare sowie zunehmend Videoinhalte für Social-­Media-­Kanäle. Für seine eigenen Veranstaltungen untersucht das GCB, wie beispielsweise Virtual und Augmented Reality, Gesichtserkennung oder andere relevante Technologien zum Einsatz kommen können. 

4. Kanäle 

Die digitale Transformation beeinflusst in erheblichem Maß die Kommunikationsmaßnahmen des GCB mit den unterschiedlichen Zielgruppen – vor allem Social-Media-Kanäle nehmen größeren Raum ein und prägen die Wahl der jeweiligen Formate. Mit Webinaren und Web-TV-Events, Social-Media-Posts sowie digitalen anstelle gedruckter Broschüren beschreitet das GCB auch in den Bereichen Marketing und Kommunikation neue Wege.

5. Kundenorientierung 

Die Customer-Journey steht im Zentrum sämtlicher Maßnahmen und leitet auch seine Mitglieder und Partner bei der Umsetzung digitaler Lösungen. Kundenorientierung ist ein entscheidender Erfolgsfaktor: Die Nutzer erwarten an den jeweiligen Berührungspunkten mit einer Dienstleistung oder einem Produkt in zunehmendem Maß individualisierte Lösungen. Die Analyse von Bedürfnissen und Erwartungen der unterschiedlichen Zielgruppen stellt die Basis für die Definition von »Personas« dar. Mit diesem Marketinginstrument lassen sich dann geeignete Lösungen und Produkte entwickeln.

6. Daten und Analysen 

Auch im digitalen Bereich muss der Erfolg von Maßnahmen und Aktivitäten messbar sein. Deshalb definiert das GCB vor der Analyse seiner Daten KPIs (Leistungskennzahlen), anhand derer beispielsweise alle Kommunikationsmaßnahmen überprüft werden. Bezogen auf die Digitalisierung insgesamt ist der digitale Reifegradindex der wichtigste KPI zur Messung des digitalen Transformationsgrades in einem Unternehmen. Er dient als Orientierung, um sämtliche Prozesse in allen Unternehmensteilen stetig weiter zu optimieren. Change is the new normal, wir müssen mit dynamischen strategischen Ansätzen, stetiger Weiterbildung und permanent angepassten Lösungen und Produkten den umfassenden Wandel an- und aufnehmen, den die digitale Transformation antreibt.